PDA

View Full Version : High Polygon/Low Polygon, what do they mean?

MissOptimist
04-20-2006, 12:08 AM
When someone says he/she wants high polygon or low polygon, what does each mean?
I'm kinda new to Maya, please help.

superhooman
04-20-2006, 08:00 AM
high polygon means models that have a high polygon count. In other words, they are high resolution models, like the models used in films. Low poly models are the models used in games and other realtime applications, they need lower polygon counts in order to work efficiently within the realtime engine. So basically the terms just refer to the poly resolution of the mesh.

rebo
04-20-2006, 11:01 AM
The figures are constantly changing, for instance low polyused to be under a thousand, now it could infact refer to an 8000 polygon Half Life 2 mesh. Furthermore polycounts at this level can be used as cage mesh for subdivision surface models which are then used in pre-rendered work.

The best way to think of it is low poly = realtime applications, and high poly = pre-rendered work/map sources for a lower poly model.

If someone is saying they want a high poly model well that means you can probably ignore polycount as a factor in your model as it will be pre rendered. If someone says they need a low poly model well it means they are working to technical constraints and you therefore need to request a polygon budget.

bleumoon
04-20-2006, 11:06 AM
The figures are constantly changing, for instance low polyused to be under a thousand, now it could infact refer to an 8000 polygon Half Life 2 mesh. Furthermore polycounts at this level can be used as cage mesh for subdivision surface models which are then used in pre-rendered work.

The best way to think of it is low poly = realtime applications, and high poly = pre-rendered work/map sources for a lower poly model.