PDA

View Full Version : - Rendering for Compositing?


CIM
03-08-2002, 03:08 PM
I'm going to render an animation out for composition. I was wondering what's the best way to do it.

Problem I'm having is when I render in parts, only some things will have alpha channels. For example, say I'd want to render out a sky, sun, and ground out seperate. How do I do it so I have an alpha channel for all? I only get an alpha channel for the ground.

Facial Deluxe
03-08-2002, 06:29 PM
How are your sky and sun ?
Are they made with Skytracer ? If so, might be the reason why you don't have any alpha.
The ground is an object (right ? ) and it have alpha.

Perhaps post an image.

CIM
03-08-2002, 07:31 PM
No, I make skies with the LW_TextureEnviroment plugin. The sun is a couple of volumetric point lights. I see what you mean though.

Anyone have an idea how I'd make the alpha for the sky and/or sun? I'm using After Effects 5.

Facial Deluxe
03-08-2002, 08:18 PM
Well you could render Sky and suns in greyscale (Dark sky & white clouds/sun) and use the "luma matte" mode to compose...

Just an idea.

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 02:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.