PDA

View Full Version : Color coding if keyed -- help!

Bleen
04-18-2006, 07:46 PM
Hello, I have little experience with MEL so please go easy on me :-)

I'm trying to color code the controls for a face of a character... if they're keyed.
For example, if the animator keys the "smile" control, the control curve itself would change from being blue to red. This way the animator can scrub through the animation and see what controls are keyframed!
But alas, my MEL knowledge is reduced...
I tried using the docs, but I only got more confused. I tried searching the forums, but found nothing. So far I've been testing and I have these chunks of code:

int $tiempo = `currentTime -q`;
$haykey[] = `keyframe -t $tiempo -query Smile_ctrl`;
if ($haykey[1] != 0)
print "There's a key here!";
else
print "NO KEY";

To test if "Smile_ctrl" is keyed at current time. Which returns systax error on the $haykey declaration line. I only need to know if anything inside the control curve's keyed. If at least one attribute is keyed, color code it to red...

I also have a doubt, would an expression such as this evaluate every frame automatically?

Thanks!

Stucky
04-19-2006, 11:25 PM
I changed the code to this:

float $haykey[] = `keyframe -query Smile_ctrl`;

if ($haykey[0] != 0)

print "There's a key here!";

else

print "NO KEY";

I deleted the first line, because you don't need to query what is the current time. And in the second line, you just have to query if the object is keyed, you don't need to point the time. Then it will print something, whether it IS keyframed or NOT.

Hope this helps

-S

Bleen
04-21-2006, 06:18 PM
Stucky, thanks! It DOES help, however, I'm still puzzled about what keyframe -query Ctrl_name returns.

I made a keyframe on frame 2, printed the line and I got this:
print `keyframe -query Ctrl_name`;

This particular control has 11 keyframeable channels (the 3xTranslate, 3xRotate, 3xScale, and two custom attributes).