PDA

View Full Version : particles, render only?

andrewjohn81
04-17-2006, 01:08 PM
I am a bit new to particles and I am working on a dish washer. I have to show an older model, then the newer model spraying and show the difference. it doesn't have to be super photoreal, but it looks pretty good. if it were photoreal then you really can't see much. I'm just trying to illustrate the differences.

So I have small planes with 9 faces each and the corners pulled in a little to make them slightly more round. Each plane is emitting particles. I have only done the old one so far, but I am a bit disapointed with the speed. There are 20 emitters and I can't change that.
I wonder if I need more than one PFsource? I'm not sure why that would make it faster, or if it would at all.

There are 40k particles per second. (that's 2000 particles/sec each emitter for those who aren't good at math).

I have one colision test with a delete command after that. It is a simple box with the normal facing inward. It is placed Just outside of the dishwasher to stop the particles.

there is one force, gravity straight down.

the speed is varied by 1%

The shape is a tetra (only 4 sides, but this varies the specular a bit, which varies color also)

So those are the settings pretty much. It really doesn't seem to make a difference what the display settings are. it is Always slow. I tested it and the difference between displaying 0%1%10% and 100% are all the same. It takes about 40 seconds to calculate each frame. "#$&%*#)%&" I don't want it to. I want it to render, but I want to be able to do the animation on my own without having to turn on the PF source every time I want to test a render.

The dumb thing is I move to the frame, then it calculates the same thing again when I hit render. What is the point of that?

Is there a more manageable way of doing this? It just doesn't seem very efficient.