PDA

View Full Version : Importing Weights Fail!!


Dogway
04-17-2006, 05:10 AM
Helos!

I have been experiencing a problem when importing weights, actually I just tried with a simple cilinder to check if it was my model problem or something and it didnt import the weights correctly nor copied as well. I wonder what Im doing wrong.

First I must create an exact copy of my skeleton and surface model, bind it with the default settings(?), with the same corresponding bones number binded in the original model (that means excluding useless tip bones), select surface and import the previously exported weights.
Even so the skinning just get messed up. In the case of the cilinder it just doesnt make any change. Anyway as extra information I have hold joints in most of the skeleton.

I have tried in several ways and cant figure out how to avoid repainting weights.

Dogway
04-17-2006, 04:58 PM
I already solved the problem with my model, but still dont know why importing weights is not working? looks a "buggy" function to me, but just drop me opinions if you use to export weights or try to avoid this function, whatever concerned. ThX!

Wonton
04-17-2006, 06:22 PM
I have the same problem. Simple or complex geometry, clean or messy UV's, there's always some problem when I use it. Even if just 1 cv that needs re-weighting, it annoys me.

What I do to temporarily store the weights, is duplicate that geometry, and use Copy Skin Weights instead. You can modify even the topology, then copy it back in, and any new points will magically be smoothed out. If the new cv's are "stuck", just do a reset weights, and try copy weights again.

Soulcialism
04-18-2006, 04:27 PM
maya's import/export skin weights are kind of weird. it converts your weight value to a greyscale value and generates an image (tif or tga or whatever) and that's what gets exported. as a result you can get weird values - you may have set your weight a bone at say .75 / .25 in the component editor, but it may come back in with the tif as .72 / .28. of course, the lower the resolution of the maps you export, the bigger problems you'll have with import/export.

the copy weights thing is a reliable workaround, also there are some scripts on highend3d for storing weight information as exported text documents or blind data on the vertices... those all work pretty well too. i generally just avoid using maya's import/export weighting feature.

hope that helps..

isoparmB
04-19-2006, 02:57 PM
If I have two identical characters, meaning if they have the same geometry and rig, I usually do a mirror weight operation. It usually works for me. I'd open the file I want to correct, reference in the correctly weighted rig, place one at tx 10 and the other at tx -10, give one of the characters a -1 scale X, then do a mirror skin weights operation. When I'm done with the referenced file I remove it. Works especially well if the rig is completely symmetrical.

Import/Export skin weights has never worked for me.

CGTalk Moderation
04-19-2006, 02:57 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.