PDA

View Full Version : I am quite new to Maya. *Suggestions appreciated*

SaveFerris0330
04-14-2006, 06:55 PM
Hey,

Ever since I was little, I had a strong appreciation for 3d. I loved watching animated movies (shrek) over and over again. I knew, one day I wanted to work for dreamworks.

Yes, It may sound a bit cheesy, but its the truth.

2 years ago, I decided to get started on learning some modeling. I started out with a program that was offered to us in highschool. There, I learned the basics of 3ds Max modeling, and animation. My friend then told me that I was wasting my time with 3ds Max, and that I should start of in Maya. I now have the PLE version of Maya, and I am ready to get started.

Can anyone point me in the right direction, of what to start learning. Any tutorials, that helped you out, in the beginning?

I picked up George Maestri's book, "Maya at a Glance". It has been very helpful in teaching me the interface, and some NURBS, and polygonal techniques.

I also bought the lynda.com Maya tutorial dvd.

Thank you very much!!!

-Mike Cusano

SaveFerris0330
04-14-2006, 08:52 PM
This should be moved to the main maya page.

Sorry about that. <_<

roberte
04-14-2006, 09:04 PM
Mike,

On my site www.robertellisonimaging - in the links section - there are a huge number of links for everything CG imaginable, many free tutorial sites etc. Check it out.

Robert

almux
04-14-2006, 09:23 PM
Mike,

On my site www.robertellisonimaging - in the links section - there are a huge number of links for everything CG imaginable, many free tutorial sites etc. Check it out.

Robert

I would have appreciate to have a look there too... ;o/ But I can't get your page... Is your link ok? Or is it not Safari compatible?

frothlord
04-15-2006, 02:11 AM
My friend then told me that I was wasting my time with 3ds Max, and that I should start of in Maya

Thats not necessarily true. I know Maya, and I'm learning Max to get a job now (I think its the area).

SaveFerris0330