PDA

View Full Version : Rigging: Skin Binding Question (newbie)

Yellochevy02
04-12-2006, 09:43 PM
I am a student, and this is my frist time rigging a character, I have run in to a problem with binding a glove onto a rig. I am currently rigging a bi-ped complete with arms. Last week i finaly was able to get the arms fully rigged. When i moved the right arm rig the skin wouldn't bind to the rig, even though i smooth binded the skin to the rig before i added the IK handle. The right arm rig appears to have a skin binded to it but the skin isn't wanting to bind to it. I've tried to re-bind the skin but maya keeps throwing an error message at me:

Error: selected geometery "polySurface14" is already connected to a skinCluster

I've tried to detach the skin on the rig and then rebind the geometry to the rig but maya keeps throwing an error message at me, again:

Error: Skin on L_hip was bound at a different pose. Go to the bindPose to attach new skins.

Tried "go to bindPose" with rig and geometry selected:

Error: Go to bind pose requires that you select a skeleton

What do i do to fix the problem?

rigging3d
04-13-2006, 06:30 AM
Error: selected geometery "polySurface14" is already connected to a skinCluster

I've tried to detach the skin on the rig and then rebind the geometry to the rig but maya keeps throwing an error message at me, again:

I'll try to help you out. Without seeing the scene, I can't be sure of exactly what is happening, but I'll take a stab at it.

First of all, if you have detached the skin, you should be able to rebind it with no problem. Theoretically you should even be able to keep the deformer history on it with no problem (found under edit-->delete by type-->non deformer history and also skin-->detach skin-->[option box] keep history, this retains all your weight painting information which in turn saves you from the insane asylum).