PDA

View Full Version : Mental Ray - GI only vs GI with FG - brightness changes

Kako
04-11-2006, 10:10 PM
Hi!

I need some help with a strange result I have when I render any scene using GI and FG together in MR. I'm not an expert user, but I'm not a beginner neither... So... It may look simple, but I just can't figure it out. Some time ago I spent a lot of time trying to solve it. I think I read almost any article or tutorial or thread that could possibly have anything to do with this, but no success. Then I let it go because I could work my way out using FG multibounces in most cases. But I know in some situations it is better to use GI combined with FG, and I really have got to RElearn how to do that. Well... Maybe there isn't anything wrong and I just couldn't get used to MR 3.4. Let's see...

Here are two simple scenes so that you can understand the problem (if there's any).

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i189/kakophotobucket/TestGIandFGbrightnessChanges1.jpg

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i189/kakophotobucket/TestGIandFGbrightnessChanges.jpg

In each scene there's a render using GI only and a render using GI and FG together. Shouldn't the overall brightness of both images in each scene be the same?! I mean... Isn't it strange that the image gets much darker when FG is on?! I always heard that GI and FG should be better tweaked separately, right? And so I did until some time ago. But if the image is much brighter when FG is off, it's not very usefull to set GI separetely! The image has to be blown out so that the final result is acceptable when I turn FG on.

And what about the bright areas at the bottom corners of the first scene, for example? The shader is a simple lambert. No Occlusion shaders were used. But anyway, shouldn't there be some contact shadows right there instead of blown out areas?!