PDA

View Full Version : Chamfer Edges


c81
04-11-2006, 07:10 AM
Hello, im a newbie to c4d comming from a 3dsmax background.

Currently running through the program.

My simple problem is that I made a simple box. Converted it to a editable box and now i got an egde selected and i need to chamfer the edge.

How does one create a chamfered edge? I cant see a chamfer option.

thanks

SjaakHaas
04-11-2006, 07:35 AM
Before you make it editable, be shure to use the Filet option within the cubes option.

SjaakHaas
04-11-2006, 07:49 AM
(sorry for double-post)

ThirdEye
04-11-2006, 08:18 AM
right click > bevel

don't use the fillet option if you need to bevel just one edge

Creature
04-11-2006, 10:42 AM
"Chamfer" is called "Bevel" in Cinema. It can not only used on edges but on polygons as well. Except in the rightclick menu it can also be found under the structure-menu or when you press the V-key and then got to structure.

janper
04-07-2007, 05:03 PM
"Chamfer" is called "Bevel" in Cinema. It can not only used on edges but on polygons as well. Except in the rightclick menu it can also be found under the structure-menu or when you press the V-key and then got to structure.

no, it's not the same. look how it works in MAX:

http://janper.daroiz.sk/data/orig.jpg
http://janper.daroiz.sk/data/chamf.jpg

moka.studio
04-07-2007, 05:20 PM
no, it's not the same. look how it works in MAX:

http://janper.daroiz.sk/data/orig.jpg
http://janper.daroiz.sk/data/chamf.jpg


Janper, it works exactly the same in c4d, as it does in your exemple.
Just make sure you have "subdivision" turned to 0 when using the bevel tool

http://img409.imageshack.us/img409/8273/beveltn5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

kerbouci
04-07-2007, 06:41 PM
What are you saying guys !!
of course there is chamfer in Cinema since R9. But it works only with splines. ah sorry ; I mean with points
all you have to do is to select the point , then : right click > Chamfer

http://www.bof3d.com/up/get-4-2007-bof3d_comd7ww7qkc.jpg (http://www.bof3d.com/up)

Per-Anders
04-07-2007, 07:01 PM
They're talking about the Chamfer command in 3D Max, which is the same as our bevel command. The Chamfer command your'e talking about is indeed only for splines and has been in Cinema since before Version 7.

moka.studio
04-07-2007, 07:02 PM
What are you saying guys !!
of course there is chamfer in Cinema since R9. But it works only with splines. ah sorry ; I mean with points
all you have to do is to select the point , then : right click > Chamfer



kerbouci,
he is looking for a tool to create a chamfer on polygonal objects;
in C4d, this is the "bevel" tool, with subdivision set to 0.
You then get a chamfer ( a "hard" bevel).

The chamfer tool for splines is something different.

kerbouci
04-07-2007, 07:18 PM
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

OK; Now I understand that the bevel tool in Cinema is called Chamfer in Max .
it's just a question of terminology.
when I heard chamfer , I thought it was "our chamfer" ,

thanks for reminding me.

janper
04-07-2007, 09:54 PM
Janper, it works exactly the same in c4d, as it does in your exemple.
Just make sure you have "subdivision" turned to 0 when using the bevel tool

http://img409.imageshack.us/img409/8273/beveltn5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)


thanks, finally works. i was already trying chamferedge plugin

however, both bevel and the plugin make some weird things to the original polygons:
look at the black gradient near some vertices/edges. this remains in render too

what's wrong?

thx

ThirdEye
04-07-2007, 10:09 PM
thanks, finally works. i was already trying chamferedge plugin

however, both bevel and the plugin make some weird things to the original polygons:
look at the black gradient near some vertices/edges. this remains in render too

what's wrong?

thx

phong angle, change it in the phong tag if needed

janper
04-07-2007, 11:50 PM
phong angle, change it in the phong tag if needed

right, that was it. now i just have to figure out what does it mean ;)

thanks!

AdamT
04-08-2007, 02:23 AM
right, that was it. now i just have to figure out what does it mean ;)

thanks!
Phong angle adjusts shading to eliminate (or try to eliminate) faceting. Max has the same thing but I forget what they call it.

CGTalk Moderation
04-08-2007, 02:23 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.