PDA

View Full Version : Help with Masking on 3D object.

SpiralFace
04-09-2006, 06:25 AM
Hey guys, I'm new to Z-brush and I'm loveing everything about it so far. Although there is something that has been shown in many instructural video's that I've watched and I can never figure out how they do it, so I'm wondering if you guys can help.

I whould like to know how I can project loaded alpha's onto the 3D tool that your useing with the intent of useing it as a quick way to model out fine texture details like scales, or skin. The only thing I've been able to find in the z-scripts are the tutorials on useing the projection tool, but I actively check how my aditional sculpting looks in 3D when I use just the projection thing. And I can't find it easily on the few websights I've been looking at, so I'm just wondering how I go about masking it.

Thanks for the help.

urgrund
04-09-2006, 11:47 AM
check out these two threads, I had the exact same question a while back! :)

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=275991
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=276274

SpiralFace
04-10-2006, 08:42 AM
Thanks alot, thats exactly what I was looking for.

But now something else has come up that has to do with masking,

I know how to paint on an alpha right onto the mesh with the CTL button, but once I painted on an alpha layer, I was wondering, how do you invert this alpha selection on your 3D mesh?

I've already tryed clicking the Inverse button in the Alpha layer pallete, but all it does is inverse the current alpha selection from the Alpha tool option. Once again I know there must be a way to do it, as I've seen it done in many tutorial videos (Exepcialy Pixelogic's fish demo off their websight.) But I have been unable to find that option.

Anyone know where it is?

TVeyes
04-10-2006, 11:01 AM
Press Tool > Masking > Inverse (Ctrl + i) to inverse the current masking.

Mouse actions are quicker IMO.

CTRL + click an empty space of the canvas to inverse the masking.