PDA

View Full Version : small Draw Size

enape
04-08-2006, 04:30 PM
Hi,
I am pretty new to ZBrush, it really is a great program. What I am doing at the moment is a human, which I modelled in Maya and which I want to texture and sculpture in ZBrush. I started to sculpture the head but somehow I have a problem. Although I have the Draw Size at 1 and Subdivision to 6, I can't sculpture really small lines, like I would need for the lips. I already tried to change the focal shift, but it stays the same, too many polygones are pushed.

I hope that is the right way, that I sculpture the model now from the lowest sdiv level to the highest and that I can later put the information into a displacement and bump map.

Thank you!
enape

Matariki
04-08-2006, 09:42 PM
Have a look at the great workflow tut to know how to transfer your lowres model and the displacement/normal maps. For modeling small details zoom in on the part of the model you want to add detail to. Then choose a brush size. Size 1 is very small and not really suitable for pushing polygons its more for moving individual vertices. Choose something bigger, say 6, which is very small when you zoom you model right up. Hope it helps.

jramauri
04-09-2006, 02:41 PM
enape: To make fine details in your model, I think is more appropriate for you use the Projection Master plugin. This plugin comes with ZBrush, and allows you to use all ZBrush tools to modify your model in more detailed way. To use, do the following:
1. Position the part of your model you want to detail on your workspace. Maximize it as much as possible, and position it the way it faces you.
2. Press "g" on your keyboard or press the Projection Master button on the left upper part of ZBrush window. A welcome screen will appear.
3. As you aren't dealing with color issues, uncheck the color option.
4. Check the Deformation option. Be sure that Normalized option be checked too.
5. Press Drop now button.