PDA

View Full Version : New to coffee programming

jimzepellin
04-07-2006, 02:16 PM
I'm a pure programming beginner. Since coffee can be programmed in C\C++ and Java, I just wondered what are the pro's and cons of each language? Also could anyone recommend any beginner books.

Thanks

Darter
04-07-2006, 03:36 PM
COFFEE is a programming language. The Introduction in the COFFEE SDK gives a basic description of the language and how it compares to C++.

The SDK also has a Code Primer and COFFEE primer. Understanding how the SDK works is crucial.

I found mdme_sadie's COFFEE Node and SDK Primers and the 3DAttack tutorials to be very useful for getting started.

There have also been some illuminating threads on the C4D forums, e.g. http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=266742&highlight=C.O.F.F.E.E+function+called

A search for 'COFFEE' on forums such as CGTalk, C4D Cafe, 3D Attack, etc. will turn up many more useful discussions.

When you have a basic understanding, pull apart every script and COFFEE expression you can get your hands on. Scripts tend to be relatively simple and as such are good learning resources.

Kuroyume0161
04-07-2006, 11:56 PM
And don't forget the main and ultimate resource: PluginCafe (http://www.plugincafe.com/)

This is where you can get the COFFEE docs and technical support.

Robert

arctan
04-14-2006, 11:59 PM
Since coffee can be programmed in C\C++ and Java...COFFEE is similar to JavaScript, but not identical. Neither JavaScript nor COFFEE are "Java". They share some syntactical similarities, but they're all distinct langauges. I can name half a dozen constructs in each language that doesn't work in the others.

jimzepellin
04-15-2006, 03:31 PM