PDA

View Full Version : Totally Understanding SD Widescreen

amv256
04-04-2006, 11:47 PM
NOTE: I'm not 100% sure this belongs here, but I'm an AE user so it seemed as good a place as any, but I'd appreciate a mod moving it if another forum would be more appropriate.

My background is in general 3D (using 3ds max) and mograf using After Effects. I've worked in broadcast, but everything thus far has been SD full-frame (720x480 4:3).

I'm now working privately on a short film that will be split between 3ds max and After Effects. However, I'd like to move into SD widescreen (16:9), as the full-frame look is just too "TV-ish" and doesn't have the cinematic quality I'm looking for.

Like I said, I've done a lot of work in broadcast and DVD, so the whole workflow is not new to me, I've just never TOUCHED widescreen. I've been Googling and trying to get a handle on everything I'll need to know, but there are a few things I still just can't seem to get clear answers on without asking directly:

1) First off, resolution: From what I've read, I almost got the impression that widescreen uses the same resolution of SD (720x480), but that the pixel aspect ratio is different and the image is stretched so that after the aspect ratio is applied, it fills a wider, shorter rectangle.

So just to verify what I've dug up in research, can someone give me a bottom line on SD Widescreen's resolution and pixel aspect ratio?

2) Next, with the new res and pixel aspect ratio, are there any changes to my workflow? I can't imagine any. Thus far I do my rendering and animation in 3ds max (of course), do compositing, mograf, certain effects, and general post processing in AE, and then either do a final edit pass in Premiere or just dump it directly to Encore for DVD burning. Viola, I've got a DVD or whatever ready for use.