PDA

View Full Version : Zbrush to animation


Zack Attack
04-05-2006, 12:24 AM
I know Zbrush is good for modeling and all, but how does it handel rigging for animation. I rarely get to see these great Zbrush moldels in motion. So is the process similar, like in modo were you creat the model then import it to lw or maya?

eblondin
04-05-2006, 12:38 AM
you can export out your model as an .obj to any application for rigging and animating.

jelili
04-05-2006, 05:36 PM
Here go see zbrush models in action
http://pixologic.com/zbrush/interviews/luma_interview.html

and http://pixologic.com/zbrush/interviews/artist_interviews.html
or you could watch "lord of the rings".

Gipper3d
04-10-2006, 11:33 AM
Seems like the mesh they create for detailed objects is very dense and would require a lot of computing power to animate them??

rasamaya
04-11-2006, 06:57 AM
No problems with 4 million plus polys in your model, cuz you use a displacement map on a 100-1000 poly base mesh wich animates very fast!

Nemoid
04-11-2006, 09:56 AM
basically what you would do for animation is to build your base mesh in lets say Maya, do your UVs there, export in .obj and import in ZB, subdivide, sculpt, and extract your maps: displacement map and normal.map. you can also do texture, bump, and building em separately, even diffusion , reflection maps. then you simply apply them onto your low res model, the one that will be animated/deformed (not the stand in you should do for even faster animation feedbackl)

,after that you can render using also subpixel displacement features, so that all your details will be showed in the final image as real geometry fine details.

you could also build your base in ZB with Zspheres, but no great control on topology for animation (especially facial animation ) for now. 2.5 will be a different story, cause will have tools similar to topology brush.

in the case of z spheres you could also build base mesh there, fix in maya, reimport fixed model.

Gipper3d
04-13-2006, 12:26 PM
So for animation uses, you use it much like Deep Paint 3d or other 3d painting softwares, strictly to get displacement maps etc..... painted in a 3d environment?

SpiralFace
04-14-2006, 07:26 PM
So for animation uses, you use it much like Deep Paint 3d or other 3d painting softwares, strictly to get displacement maps etc..... painted in a 3d environment?

its a bit more complicated then that becuase its not a 3d enviorment your working on, but that is the general gist of it. Although z-brush is MUCH more powerfull and usefull in my opinion then Deep paint.

CGTalk Moderation
04-14-2006, 07:26 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.