PDA

View Full Version : working on a MusicVideo...

JEIK
04-04-2006, 12:07 AM
Hi everyone!
I'm new to After-effects and I'm having trouble...
I Know this is probably a really
simple problem for you guys but I've been searching for tutorials all day and have'nt found my answer yet...
so Here's my problem :

Im working on a musicVideo and I started working with all of my images in the same composition, but now this is all very heavy (and slow! ) to work with...It takes me about 3 hours just to export my video into a .AVI
Am I working the right way?... I tried to work on diffrent compositions for each scene, but I can only hear the audio in my 1rst comp and am unable to watch all my compositions in a row...

What should I do?

this is kind of urgent...

Thanks to all of you who can help me!

(ps: I'm from quebec and english isn't my first language...so Im sorry If my writing is really bad... U_U )

suztv
04-05-2006, 08:44 PM
Reduce your preview resolution on your comps.

Reduce the output resolution if you are just rendering a preview for your own purposes. I wouldn't render at High quality, full resolution unless the project was final.

Make sure you have enough RAM allocated to AfterEffects. (Look in preferences etc..)

Also make sure the images you are using are only as big as you need them. Don't use 300 dpi 12"x12" images unless you have a close up - and even then reduce the pixel res to 72 and interpolate the size. AfterEffects has a hard time with High resolution files.

Turn off the motion-blur preview on your timeline - this makes AfterEffects REALLY slow if you do not have the processing speed and RAM to support it. Also, only use this effect sparingly as it increases render time.

Render-out nested comps - especially if they have A LOT of effects. Just make sure you have an alpha channel rendered as well if they need to be transparent in places.
I have attached some JPGs so that you can see what I mean.

beenyweenies
04-07-2006, 06:56 AM