PDA

View Full Version : reflection blur

Droolz
03-31-2006, 10:29 PM
Does anyone have any hints as to how I might recreate reflection blur in After effects? I'm guessing it would be something like using a normals pass combined with some sort of blur that reads this sort of info data, but I'm stumped - I'm pretty new to compositing so any if anyone has any links or tips to help me start it would be much appreciated.

All the best,

Jules

Vympel
03-31-2006, 10:52 PM
Simple blur in a reflection pass?

Droolz
04-01-2006, 07:52 AM
Yes I realise that - I was after whether anyone had any idea for a more complicated workflow where aftereffects is passed some information regarding the surface direction and can therefore blur in the correct 'direction'. A uniform blur simply wouldn't look correct, if anyone has any ideas they would be much appreciated.

Mylenium
04-01-2006, 08:49 AM
Does anyone have any hints as to how I might recreate reflection blur in After effects? I'm guessing it would be something like using a normals pass combined with some sort of blur that reads this sort of info data, but I'm stumped - I'm pretty new to compositing so any if anyone has any links or tips to help me start it would be much appreciated.

All the best,

Jules

Nope. I don't think that this type of stuff would ever work as a post process. A standard normal map does not capture distances between objects and reflective surfaces, it is a mere incidence map capturing the angle between surfaces, lights and camera. I guess one could combine it with some sort of custom-made height/ depth/occlusion pass, but even then you'd still need to manually animate values over time to get coherent results. It may be a major pain (because it's slow), but the current way of using ray multi-sampling is the only way to get halfway correct soft reflections.

Mylenium

Droolz
04-01-2006, 12:43 PM
Thanks Mylenium,

I guess that's why I couldn't find anything on the net ;)....

Jules

jussing
04-01-2006, 02:03 PM