PDA

View Full Version : Advice for novice, re bipeds, textures

maria_c2h
03-29-2006, 11:54 AM
Hi, I am a 3d novice, undertaking some 3d for a college project. I have modelled a head and now want to attach it to a biped so as to animate movement of the head.

Any advice on how to do this??

Am also looking for advice on simple ways to colour the lips & give the hair a texture, the character is intended to look quite cartoony, I have already modelled the hair, it's a polygon and not particulary lifelike.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

maria_c2h
03-30-2006, 09:36 AM
O, bytheway, forgot to mention i'm using 3ds max 8, oops

maria_c2h
03-30-2006, 09:37 AM
Am using 3ds max 8 bytheway

maria_c2h
03-30-2006, 12:33 PM
Any help at all??

I'm using max 8

Wacomy
03-30-2006, 01:01 PM
There are a couple of ways to rig up a body in Max

The best way I find is to use a Skin Modifier over a Physique on when rigging up such a small area. This will allow you more control over areas such as the chin. Often using physique it can be difficult to stop envelopes from catching the chin, even when you change the vertices parameter.
With skin, if you position the biped properly you shouldnt even have this problem to begin with

jonnypolez
03-30-2006, 01:22 PM
i'm not totally sure but i'm going to be doing something like this in a about a month or so at university

im assuming it might have something to do with physique/skinning, i know that when you want to animate a character mesh you need to attach it to a biped using physique. Maybe the head works in a similar way, although I don't know for certain. Max has tons of tutorials though.

maria_c2h
03-30-2006, 01:29 PM
Great, thanks for the pointers, i'll go look up stuff on physique & skinning so

visualchaosfx
03-30-2006, 01:57 PM
Hi,