PDA

View Full Version : New Script: Scripters Army Knife BETA


Wahooney
03-29-2006, 11:10 AM
I've written a new script that will, eventually, help scripters in every aspect of scripting.

At the moment there is the Script Wizard, which is a pluginnable tool that will create skeleton code for tasks such a for sel in selection, macros, plugins, etc., and the Script Library, which is basically my Check Installed Scripts script that has been repackaged and beefed up. But for those not in the know it lists all scripts in max's default script locations (scripts, ui/macros, stdplugs/stdscripts).

Download it and get more info here (http://www.wahooney.net/download.php?view.47).

Wahooney
03-30-2006, 09:59 AM
Sorry guys, the last version of Scripters Army Knife had a rather huge bug in it that made it useless. I've fixed it now and it should be working correctly. Follow the above link to download the updated version.

erilaz
03-30-2006, 10:08 AM
I love you man... :love:

In a platonic scripting kinda way... :D

Wahooney
03-30-2006, 10:33 AM
Thank you erilaz for your platonic type script loving... :love:

Remember, comments, complaints and suggestions are welcomed or in some cases needed ;)

erilaz
03-30-2006, 10:47 AM
Thank you erilaz for your platonic type script loving... :love:

Remember, comments, complaints and suggestions are welcomed or in some cases needed ;)

I'll be sure to stress-test it tomorrow and let you know!:D

Wahooney
03-30-2006, 11:05 AM
Thanks erilaz :thumbsup:

erilaz
03-31-2006, 01:30 AM
Awesome work. I can see this becoming very handy as it progresses with more wizards.

Okay! A couple of things. Interface mainly:


There are 3 drop down options with all the same Wahooney Wizards. I'm assuming you did this for testing. I'll have to try making the plugins!
The "Execute" and "Create" interface is a little confusing. It took me a while to work out I had to execute the dialog for options, then hit the create afterwards. Perhaps add the creation into the "Finish" button and have a serperate open button for the normal scripts?
The word "execute" is also a bit misleading. It comes across as meaning "Run this script" not "Run the wizard"
Apart from those little things, this looks very promising! Especially for someone who has little function templates all over the place! :D

Can you add an option to insert a function into a piece of code, or are there limitations (I think last time I checked this was quite difficult).

Also, it would be cool to have the functions from this thread (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?goto=newpost&t=295257)added!

Wahooney
03-31-2006, 06:52 AM
Ok, that 3 items drop list has been sorted (no it wasn't a debugging thing :blush: )

Unfortunately the Execute, Create buttons are necessary to keep the plugin writing simpler for the time being, I've renamed them to Open Wizard and Finish. Perhaps I should write an intermediary rollout that inherits it's functionality from the plugin, but has it's own functions which will create the script... only time will tell.

You can get the version with these fixes in the link on the first page.

As for the code snippets request, the best I can figure is copying the snippet to the clipboard and allowing the user to paste it where they like, or should it just write it to a new script file? Not too sure.


Anyway, thanks for the input erilaz.

Wahooney
04-03-2006, 08:40 AM
Scripters Army Knife just got better!

Script wizard has a new, far less confusing workflow when creating scripts.
Script wizard can either produce a temporary script or save it automatically to the location of your choice.
There is now a Wizard Wizard, allowing you to more easily create your own wizards.
ScrAK has had a bit of an interface polish, now it all looks prettier.
That's it for the updates, it's all better :thumbsup:

Follow the link in the first post to download the latest build.

Wahooney
04-06-2006, 02:03 PM
Ok, so my last release didn't work, so shoot me ;)

Sorry about that guys, the new version should work (knock wood, cross fingers, drink alcohol).

Get the updated version in the link above or here (http://www.wahooney.net/download.php?view.47).

stuh505
04-06-2006, 04:20 PM
Hey Wahooney,

I haven't had a chance to check this out yet but I have a suggestion for something that would really help in scripting...that is, a tool that allows you to edit and adjust the UI controls of an existing script using the VMS editor

Deadalus
04-06-2006, 06:38 PM
sound like a very cool tool ; problem is i got this erroe when i try to load it.
I put it in my menu , i dunno if there a special place to load it.
I'm sure i D/L the latest one. I'm on max 7 , win Xp SP2
Any idea?
>> MAXScript MacroScript Compile - C:\3dsmax7\UI\MacroScripts\Wahooney Tools - ScriptersArmyKnife.mcr Exception: -- Compile error: Can't find include file: Wahooney\RigAK\RAK_BmpFuncs.ms
-- In line: include "Wahooney\\RigAK\\RAK_BmpFuncs.ms" <<

Wahooney
04-07-2006, 05:49 AM
Oh, sorry guys, I keep dropping the ball with this one :banghead:

This new update should now be working properly.

stuh505: Unfortunately I have no direct access to scripter windows, so I can't pop the VMS up for the current rollout. I am thinking, however, about making a tool that will help you create relatively positioned rollouts (using across, offset, align, etc.)

erilaz
04-07-2006, 05:58 AM
Oh, sorry guys, I keep dropping the ball with this one :banghead:



Hey, that's what we're here for! Beta testing! :D

Wahooney
04-07-2006, 06:02 AM
[edit] Oops, double post. :p

Ok, the new version is up and hopefully running. :thumbsup:

Follow any of the above links.

Deadalus
04-07-2006, 01:07 PM
super duper cool for what i testing . no stress-test for the moment :D but it wont be long.
only lil bug is one the installer if you keep "start: 3ds max" checked at the end of the instalation its start 2 instance of 3ds max.

Good job !

Wahooney
04-07-2006, 01:12 PM
Did you have an instance of Max open already?

The installer doesn't automatically close max, so if one instance was already open it will open another.

Thanks for the praises, I hope to make this the mother of all script tools.

Deadalus
04-07-2006, 01:18 PM
i 98% sure i had max close. maybe its my mistake
but with a huge messagebox telling you to make sure max is close... its pretty hard to miss it . hehe.
anyways. its not beig deal .

stuh505
04-07-2006, 02:38 PM
Oh, sorry guys, I keep dropping the ball with this one :banghead:

This new update should now be working properly.

stuh505: Unfortunately I have no direct access to scripter windows, so I can't pop the VMS up for the current rollout. I am thinking, however, about making a tool that will help you create relatively positioned rollouts (using across, offset, align, etc.)

I don't know what you mean by no access to scripter windows...but anyway I just looked into the maxref under "Interface: visualMS" and apparently there is an EXISTING function to load up a maxscript file in the VMS editor but it does not seem to work!!!

ex:

vms = (visualMS.CreateFormFromFile "test.ms") --returns undefined?
vms.Open()

CGTalk Moderation
04-07-2006, 02:38 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.