PDA

View Full Version : User Interview: Giacomo Marchesi

Vizfizz
03-25-2006, 12:42 AM
Brian: Hi Giacomo. How about a little background on yourself.

Giacomo: I grew up in Los Alamos, New Mexico, where my father was a physicist. I flunked out of math and science classes at UC San Diego for two years and then moved to Los Angeles to attend Art Center College of Design, where I graduated in 1992 with a degree in illustration.

I first got interested in 3D when I was at Art Center. At that time they had a few SGI workstations running Alias and I spent hours screwing around with the program-I was absolutely fascinated by it. This was 1991, though, and being able to do personal work in 3D (outside of school or another institution) was not an option--those machines cost, I think, a quarter of a million dollars. So I focused on more traditional methods of producing illustration.

After I graduated, I worked using Photoshop in the sort of Rauschenberg-ish style that was popular at the time, and then I somehow discovered that 3D software existed for the computer I did have (a Quadra 700 Mac.) So in 1993 I began creating 3D illustration for print media. Because cost was an issue (EIAS retailed for $7,000 in those days) the software I used was Infini-D.

At that time I was still working under my real name ("James Gary") but when I started doing 3D work it seemed like a good idea to create a new identity--"Giacomo Marchesi"--so that in case the 3D thing totally flopped, I wouldn't be known as "that awful 3D guy." (This was actually pretty common in those days-a lot of conventional illustrators used pseudonyms for their digital work.) As it happpened, Giacomo left James in the dust career-wise almost immediately.