PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Paint Skin Weights Tool

Brinny
03-24-2006, 08:15 PM
Hello, I'm currently learning 3D in a college course, so I'm pretty new to it. I was told by my student teacher that this was a useful site. We're using Maya 7.0.
There is one problem which keeps arising. I'm currently weighting my skin to the bones using the "Paint Skin Weights Tool". When painting on my model, it seems as though some of the faces in the area I was working on will disappear. It doesn't happen constantly, but once it starts it continues for quite a while.
So, is there anyway to fix or avoid this problem? Once it starts, I close down Maya and reopen my project (unsaved) and try at it again, usually to no avail.
Any help or advice offered would be very appreciated. And don't hesitate to ask if you need more information on my model, etc.

Thanks,
Brinny

Brinny
03-30-2006, 05:46 PM
I don't want to seem pushy, but.. Please, anything you could offer on this would be a great help. I'm at a loss.

nottoshabi
03-30-2006, 11:31 PM
When you say disapering do you mean, you can see throw the modle? Painting skin weights should not make anything disapier. I thinck it might be a hardware issue not a software issues. Maybe your vidio card is a little old or burned out. I'm not using 7 so I dotn know if they changed anything to effect that but from 6.5 it does not do that.

volXen
03-30-2006, 11:32 PM
Where do the "lost" faces go? If vertices suddenly jump to the scene origin itīs a problem with weight normalisation: your overall weight has become bigger than one for them. Try the noramlize weights command and see if this helps...

mr_fett
05-24-2006, 04:49 PM