PDA

View Full Version : Multi patch head - how to texture?


dr_bob
03-06-2002, 01:17 PM
Hi

I'm in the process of modeling a multi patch head (in Maya), and I'm curious as to the best way of texturing it. For example, does each patch need it's own diffuse texture, or can the entire head use a single diffuse map?

Thanks.

Squash&Strech
03-06-2002, 08:35 PM
Im glad you asked this, I was wondering how to do it as well:)

nemeos
03-27-2002, 09:26 PM
hi there, i belive u use a shader ball and a 3ple shading switch for the channels u wanna use. then u put the name of the patch and map it, as far as the painting is, u can duplicate ur patch, show the origins and take a snapshot and paint in ps, also, u could try deep paint 3d with proyection painting

hope it helps, cya

Dalaran AW
06-22-2004, 10:25 PM
Yeah I am glad you are asking that too... working on a patch headmodel too... but was thinking in converting it into a polymodel afterwards... and UV layout and all that crap... but if there's better method... please lett us know...


Dalaran AW

Bob27
06-23-2004, 02:19 PM
Good question !

scottsch
06-23-2004, 08:00 PM
Here is a tutorial I found a while back:

http://www.keongputer.com/tutor/texturing/NurbDragon/index.html

If anyone knows of a better one, please post it. The ideas used in that tutorial are ones I've never seen. They definitely aren't obvious in the Maya manuals.

The key seems to be the triple switch shader. A more in depth tutorial on the triple switch is listed here:

http://cloud.prohosting.com/misterdi/tutorial/ShadingSwitch/shadingSwitch.html

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 02:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.