PDA

View Full Version : Is it still worth it learning animation by hand?

PIXAR
12-22-2002, 09:58 AM
I used to animate a lot, but when i see all these new technologies like mocap, AI (two towers) am starting to worry. Is there still a future for "these days animators"? you know, moving the helpers, making poses.....

getting worried sometimes

seb4d
12-22-2002, 10:24 AM
Hi,
I'm not a professional, still studying 3D at school. But we use mocap and I can tell you that it's very difficult to obtain perfect animation the first time. We often have to enhance it by hand. Furthermore mocap is only for human beings and sometimes animals.... very hard to use it for anything else I think... according to me animation by hand won't disappear.
But that's a good subject and sometimes frightening.

Nicool
12-22-2002, 06:33 PM
I agree with sed4d. And note that mocap need a lot work on the result. It does not give directly a good aniamtion!

ed209
12-22-2002, 11:15 PM
I don't think you have to worry about mo-cap taking away too many animators job just yet. There a quite a few reasons I believe this.

a)Animation is an exageration of life...the human body can only do so much, and it is the animator who will be needed to take it that next step.

b)Someone has to clean up all that sloppy mo-cap out there.

c)Certain characters just can't be mo-caped.

c)Motion for a movie like Shrek, Ice Age, Jimmy Neutron just wouldn't be the same if it was performed by a person in a suit. Just look how flat Final Fantasy turned out.

I know this may piss a few people off but I feel mo-cap dosn't take away too many jobs but rather replaces the need for talented animators. There is a great skill involved with getting a digital character to not just move but to perform. If your only refining what's already there I believe that's the equivilant to tracing.

PIXAR
12-23-2002, 08:35 AM
Originally posted by ed209