PDA

View Full Version : render format

animationking
12-20-2002, 10:23 PM
what is the best format to render my animation in maya. it is 4 minutes long and split up into 30 scenes.

And also is there a way to export my composition as an mpeg-1? or is avi the only format. im a beginner guys.

Ian Jones
12-21-2002, 12:09 AM
You should try to get it into AE uncompressed. This will take a huge amount of disk space, thats the downside. The upside is that you'll have clean and superior footage to work with, and that will present no problems when it comes to contrast or sharpening adjustments.

I am a noob, so I can't suggest any specific format. Do a search through this forum and your bound to find a very similar question. I think from memory a *.tga sequence seems to be a popular lossless format.

froggyplat
12-21-2002, 12:53 AM
definitely, .tga or .png format will be fine. if your animation is 4 minutes you will benefit from rendering it as a sequence rather than an avi in case your box crashes during rendering.

those 2 formats offer non-lossy compression with the added benefit of alpha channels if you choose 32bit mode.

from there, just drop it all into your compositor and edit/color correct away!

whats the anim?

animationking
12-21-2002, 04:43 PM
ok i rendered in tga but now how do i put it into AE so that it plays each file as 1 frame? do i need to take it into some other program and put it all together? im confused:hmm:

froggyplat
12-21-2002, 05:14 PM
k, in AE you want to go to file-import, browse to your directory where the images are. click on the first image, and on the import dialogue check the box marked "import as a tga sequence".