PDA

View Full Version : how to....

bluemonika
03-22-2006, 07:38 AM
okay...i have blender on my computer for more than a year now but only started to take matters into my own hands because i really want to expand my art field and do 3D as well. so yes...i am a beginner so please bear with me :P i am a quick learner tough.

now...what i always wondered for a while with these programs is this one thing...for example:

i have a 3d cube and on each corner there are these yellow or pinkish little balls wich allow you to modify the shape of the cube. ( sorry forgot the name of those balls ^^;) anyway...what i want to know is:

if i want to add another one of those little balls into the shape that i am working with, so that i can adjust and modify it more and put more detail in it, how do i do that?

thank you for your time ^^

piro1
03-22-2006, 08:44 AM
Hi,
ok those little "balls" are vertices. you can edit them when you are in edit mode ("tab" key to activate deactivate the edit mode). to ad more vertices you can selec 2 or more of them (clicking on them or pressing the "b" key to square selection) and push the "w" key (shows you some choice - example subdivide); if you select a face (four vertices) you can extrude it by pressing "e" key. try it. it is funny.
But if you want just to move some vertices around, try to exit from edit mode (tab), delete the cube (x or canc) and add ("space" key) a mesh-sphere. You can select the number of line and vertices of the sphere (you can get a sphere with only 8 vertices (a cube) also).
Hope this helped a little.
bye
Piro

bluemonika
03-22-2006, 09:40 AM
thanks! it really helped alot! :D now i only have one more...stupid...question...>_<