PDA

View Full Version : PSD Export - after effects - compositing

opreska
03-20-2006, 09:03 PM
Okay,

I've got a question about the PSD Export option (under image processing).
I'm able to import in a Photoshop sequence into after effects from Lightwave. It's given me all the options to tweak the specularity, shadows etc. However, my big question is, THERE's NO ALPHA!! I've gone through all the options but I don't see any alpha option. Anybody have any ideas? Plus, your tips on exporting these types of multilayered files would help as well, since I'm still a bit new to this compositing/multilayer file process.

monovich
03-20-2006, 09:45 PM
try bringing in the sequence again, but this time flattened (footage), and see if there is an alpha.

opreska
03-20-2006, 09:48 PM
Nope, still doing the same thing...

opreska
03-20-2006, 09:54 PM
Does it have anything to do with the custom range sliders?

Bonzodogboy
03-20-2006, 10:07 PM
You should have .psd 32 selected in your render options-> output files...

opreska
03-20-2006, 10:22 PM
You should have .psd 32 selected in your render options-> output files...

No, I understand that part.

What I'm trying to do is export out a photoshop sequence with the PSD export option (under the image processing controls). (ctr+F8 --> Add Image Filter --> Photoshop PSD Export)
I've been successful with importing in the layered image sequence, however, I'm not having much luck with the alpha channel. Is there some way I can save out the alpha as a seperate file and link it in to the After Effects comp? Could some one do a simple test with a ball and see if they are getting the same results. (I'm on LW 8.3 running the latest AE )

Oh,
I am able to bring in the file into Photoshop, and it does contain the alpha, so it's looking like it's more of an After Effects issue.

cgeveryday
03-20-2006, 10:33 PM
PSD exporter has never included the alpha as far as I am aware. You have to render the thing out seperately. ?? why ?? who knows!

opreska