PDA

View Full Version : can anyone show me how to do this

bigmike2006
03-19-2006, 05:49 PM
I'm pretty new to After Effects and I'm trying to learn how to make this specific kind of animation.

I have a $100 bill that rotates around from front to back and then to front again.

I want to make a kind of transition, of a lot of these bills, hundreds of them, falling from off screen at the top to the bottom.

How would I make these bills fall in such mass numbers? The idea is that they would all be in different spots and fall slightly differently.

Is there a way to randomly generate hundreds of copies of the same object and control their position? Individually keyframing them is the only way I know how right now, and it's time consuming and tedious to say the least. Is there a plugin or expression I could use?

Thanks for your help.

DLangley
03-20-2006, 02:37 AM
Expressions would probably be your best bet. The best site I know of for learning expressions is: http://www.motionscript.com

I'm sure there are folks with more expertise than me, but the set up for creating a trail of objects is actually an example printed in the AE help files. Just do a search for example expressions. It works like this

Create a comp with a bill moving down. Duplicate your first bill layer. With two instances of the bill layer now in the timeline, go to the second instance and delete any position keyframes. Alt/Opt click on the stopwatch for the position property and add the followingg expression:

thisComp.layer(thisLayer, -1).position.valueAtTime(time - .5)