PDA

View Full Version : Notes script problem

Adam
03-19-2006, 12:38 AM
hey guys, i'm pretty new to mel so this is prouably (hopefully) and easy fix. This script creates a window for you to write notes in. When you hit the save button it writes the text out to your file with the fileinfo command. The next time you run the script it searches for the fileinfo you wrote out and then creates the window and queries the fileinfo into it allowing for you to store notes in the file. The problem comes that when I query it in it include line breaks and /r but since the query doesn't include "" it just write the /n and /r in the window instead of actually returning and breaking (does that make sense). Try running it yourself. Enter notes in the window add some returns and more text and then click the save button. Rerun the script and you will see the problem. Help would be much appreciated.

$notes = `fileInfo -q "Notes"`;
window -s 0 notesWindow;
windowPref -h 265 -w 320 notesWindow;
columnLayout -adj 1;
scrollField -tx $notes -ww 1 -h 215 tF;
scrollField -e -tx $notes tF;
rowColumnLayout -nc 2 -cw 2 155 -cw 1 155;
button Save;
button Cancel;
showWindow notesWindow;
button -e -c saveProc Save;

proc saveProc()
{
$newNotes = `scrollField -q -tx tF`;
fileInfo -rm "Notes";
fileInfo "Notes" $newNotes;
}

RyanT
03-20-2006, 10:01 PM
So I tried to solve your problem. I think I am only part way there but this might help you along. So I found when you query the scrollField it is giving you a string such as "test\r\n1\r\n2\r\n3" this is bad. It has a rand a neweturn carriage line. What is wierd is if you actualy tell the scrollField that this is the string it will work. Open the note window you have and in the command line type:

scrollField -e -tx "test\r\n1\r\n2" tF;

But when you pass it a variable with this text in it, you get the newlines and carriage as text which they shouldnt be included as text.