PDA

View Full Version : Expression Help

JamSession
03-17-2006, 10:31 PM
First I am a total Rookie when it comes to mel and expressions

I am trying to create a global procedural for camera shake

I keep getting a syntax error on my expression line.

expression -s ($cam[0] + ".rx = $cam[0] + ".camShakeAmount * (noise($cam[0] + ".camShakeSpeed * time));

Full Code

global proc jamMakeCamShake ()
{
// get the selected objects
string $cam[0];
$cam = `ls -sl`;

// make sure there are objects selected
if (size($cam) == 0)
error ("You need to select a camera.\n");

//Add The Camera Shake Speed Attributes
addAttr -ln camShakeSpeed -at "float" -min 0 -dv 1 $cam[0];
setAttr -e -keyable true ($cam[0]+".camShakeSpeed ");

//Add Camera Shake Amount Attributes
addAttr -ln camShakeAmount -at "float" -min 0 -dv 1 $cam[0];
setAttr -e -keyable true ($cam[0]+".camShakeAmount ");

//Create the expression for rx
expression -s ($cam[0] + ".rx = $cam[0] + ".camShakeAmount * (noise($cam[0] + ".camShakeSpeed * time));
}
//end of script

Any Help is greatly appreciated.

Bonedaddy
03-17-2006, 11:04 PM
Try this. Your expression was not appropriately delineating which parts were variables.

expression -s ($cam[0] + ".rx = " + $cam[0] + ".camShakeAmount * (noise(" + $cam[0] + ".camShakeSpeed * time))");

Bonedaddy
03-17-2006, 11:09 PM
I'd also like to point out that most camera shake is done in compositing, so unless you need really specific controls on it, and are willing to take the hit to both your render times and your turnaround speed, I would advise against it.

JamSession
03-17-2006, 11:23 PM
Try this. Your expression was not appropriately delineating which parts were variables.

expression -s ($cam[0] + ".rx = " + $cam[0] + ".camShakeAmount * (noise(" + $cam[0] + ".camShakeSpeed * time))");

Thank you very much, I will give that a try.

Can you explain in basic terms what you mean by delineating?