PDA

View Full Version : Why does this picture look so bad

RafiS
03-17-2006, 09:53 PM
Hi,

I've attatched a render of a scene I'm doing....I haven't done any texturing or lighting (ok, only a little bit but I'm going to work on that later). But the picture doesn't look good. Its a scene where someone is looking down from a rooftop and CAN'T see right to the ground.

But in the render the bottom of the building is still sharp....I want it to sort of blur as it goes to the bottom. I made the buildings that way by stretching them in modeler so they look like they are angular and I like the effect, they are really long and in the scene, the camera goes down, towards the ground, so I need a sort of blur that can be animated.

I tried to add depth of field, but that just made the entire image blurred and I just want it to sort of be less clear the more you look towards the bottom.

Does that make sense....sorry, I'm not really good at this but I want it to look good....any advice, or if someone could tell me of a tutorial where they tell you how to do something like this would be really good.

Thanks,
Rafi.

RafiS
03-17-2006, 09:56 PM
I forgot to attach the image....

Eclyps19
03-17-2006, 10:24 PM
well i don't remember 100% how to do this since i havent used DoF for a long time but make a null, go to the properties of it and add "rangefinder". double click that and make it find the range to the camera. that'll give you the distance. put the null where you want the clearest spot to be. The null will then show that number. go into the DoF properties and change the focal distance to that number. you may have to mess with the F-stop to get things just right but that should get you to blur the bottom of the buildings.

Someone please correct me if i am wrong.

kevman3d
03-17-2006, 10:38 PM
Yup - You need to set the focal distance, however you also need to set the F-stop so that the flur occurs at the bottom too... Here's how you can get a good visual feel for the effect.