PDA

View Full Version : Question abuot Zbrush, new

JGomez3d
03-13-2006, 04:39 PM
Im having a problem with zbrush, I am new to it my first time as a matter of fact. I worked on one of my 3d models on zbrush and I saved the file as a zbrush file. But now I cannot do anything to my model, I can see it on the middle of the screen but I cant edit it or anything, and the tool to make a new mesh is not there anymore its just the model in the middle of the screen and I cant do anything to it if I create a cube or a sphere or whatever its just on top of the model but the model wont rotate or anything =(

Plz help

-JG

bigbad
03-13-2006, 07:12 PM
Ah yes. Been there to. Why don't it rotate after saving. It's a secret among zbrush l33tz.
Took me a week to figure it out cause almost no one said right out what to do.

Let me say it.

Save your mesh as a tool. Tool -> Save As

When you want you model to keep on modelling. Tool -> Import

Import your saved tool (in other words your mesh). Keep on working.

Save all the time.

JGomez3d
03-13-2006, 08:18 PM
Thats the problem the first time I saved I did not save the tool, just the mesh. Now I am stuck with a mesh in the middle of the screen that is stationary and I can't manipulate, is there any way of turning that into a tool???

Nii
03-14-2006, 12:17 AM
Nope. Such is the greatness of ZBrush. Or something. =]

JeremyJessup
03-15-2006, 03:11 PM
Yeah... it was a bit confusing to me at first too, then I realized that ZBrush is a paint program, and not primarily a 3D application. If you save the file, all you are doing is saving a 2D (or 2.5D) image, and not the actual mesh. Saving as a tool is the only way to retain your 3D geometry in ZBrush.

Personally, I'd like to see an option to save as an image or save as a 3D object in the same menu to avoid some of the confusion, but for now I know to do all my saving in the Tools menu to avoid the problem.

aurick
03-15-2006, 04:29 PM