PDA

View Full Version : Wires


pip2k
03-09-2006, 02:23 PM
What is the best way to model wires in Maya. The picture below shows what I mean?



http://www.indiainternets.com/images/datacenter/cctv.jpe

NyneDown
03-09-2006, 04:47 PM
Make a CV curve (Create ~> CV CurveTool) and make as many points as you need. Then make a Nurbs Circle (Create ~> Nurbs Primitves ~> Circle) and make sure it has enough sections. If it doesnt, look in your channel box and you should see something that says "Shapes, Inputs"....look under the Inputs part by clicking it and scroll down until you see "sections" and make as many as you need. After that, select the circle, then the curve you created and go to Surfaces ~> Extrude. Thats it....and if you dont get the results you want, just mess around with the settings inside of the extrude option box. Good luck, DuDe!

pip2k
03-09-2006, 04:58 PM
Make a CV curve (Create ~> CV CurveTool) and make as many points as you need. Then make a Nurbs Circle (Create ~> Nurbs Primitves ~> Circle) and make sure it has enough sections. If it doesnt, look in your channel box and you should see something that says "Shapes, Inputs"....look under the Inputs part by clicking it and scroll down until you see "sections" and make as many as you need. After that, select the circle, then the curve you created and go to Surfaces ~> Extrude. Thats it....and if you dont get the results you want, just mess around with the settings inside of the extrude option box. Good luck, DuDe!

Thanks alot DuDe, it worked a treat!

NyneDown
03-09-2006, 05:07 PM
No problemo, man...Glad I could help ;)

CGTalk Moderation
03-09-2006, 05:07 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.