PDA

View Full Version : ZBrush Crashing on Displacement


nubian
03-09-2006, 02:14 PM
my base mesh is only 8500 polygons.
it's all in quads.
divided in zbrush 2 more levels giving it 136,000 polys.
1024x1024 texture map.
under displacement adaptive, smoothuv and mode are highlighted.
and all over displacement option are set to default.
i set the memory to 800 since i only have 1 gig of ram.
i click on create dismap and it crashes as the yellow progress bar on top moves halfway through.
please help

krolichka
03-09-2006, 05:01 PM
i think you have to check your uvs. try to make an AUV Tiles and then make your disp map.

krolichka

nubian
03-10-2006, 02:57 AM
thank you! :thumbsup:

NyneDown
03-10-2006, 04:46 PM
Yea, check your UV's for sure. Sounds like you have some overlapping issues that need to be worked out.

nubian
03-10-2006, 04:48 PM
even though the uvs were done in zbrush?

NyneDown
03-13-2006, 06:14 AM
It's a possibility, it's always good to check ahead of time before you start modeling and detailing.

JeremyJessup
03-15-2006, 04:17 PM
I know how to check for overlapping UVs in my primary application (Max), but is there a way to check for overlapping UVs within ZBrush?

krolichka
03-15-2006, 04:29 PM
yes, under texture you will find uv check. press that button and if you have overlap uvs you will see red lines, if not there wont be any overlaping uvs.

krolichka

aurick
03-15-2006, 05:20 PM
Before you assign the UV's in ZBrush it's important to first apply a texture to the model that is the same size as what you'll be creating the displacement map at. Any old texture will do; even a completely blank one. After the texture has been assigned to the model, press Tool>Texture>AUVTiles or GUVTiles.

This way, the mapping will be calculated for the size that you'll export rather than for another size that may cause problems. Tiles mapping is very precise, and this step will avoid any possible errors.

mindsample
03-25-2006, 12:04 PM
I have a similar problem.

Zbrush exports from any model and any resolution fine with smoothUV switched off, but as soon as I switch it on even a 1k export from a 20k poly model with only one subdivision crashes zbrush.

CGTalk Moderation
03-25-2006, 12:04 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.