But I have tried burning it to DVD using

Cucusoft AVI to VCD DVD converter and also

All Video Converter

And it looks totally awful blocky pixilated and jumpy

I’ve never done any work on DVD before

HELP please

RobertoOrtiz
03-09-2006, 06:11 AM
Could you post a still image with a sample?

-R

Mylenium
03-09-2006, 06:26 AM
I rendered a short film using Lightwave D1 Pal widescreen

25 fps 720x576 1.4222 aspect ratio

Outputted to .avi dvix6 codec

It all looks great on the PC

But I have tried burning it to DVD using

Cucusoft AVI to VCD DVD converter and also

All Video Converter

And it looks totally awful blocky pixilated and jumpy

Ive never done any work on DVD before

HELP please

Whoa. This is one hell of a crooked workflow. I didn't even know the apps you're using and they don't look like professional MPEG converters. This might be a big part of the problem since it's very likely they are simply using poor compression routines. Another major problem you created yourself is using any compression on the original footage in the first place. When doing a DVD, you need to work uncompressed as long as possible and only apply the MPEG II transcoding in the last step. So get rid of that ugly DivX and render to image sequences or something similar.

Mylenium

coremi
03-09-2006, 07:19 AM
i think first of all, u never render in divx format wich is a poor quality compare to DVD format, and try to convert divx in DVD, just render uncompressed and from uncompressed use nero visionor whatever and write direct the dvd, will look as good as you rendered.

PixelInfected
03-09-2006, 12:11 PM
when you work with video and audio, never, and i say never use compressed source.
if you compress video in divx you reduce the quality, you grow the time to convert in mpg2 for dvd and general quality is worst thing.
better thing is to render in avi not compressed or quicktime not compressed. then you can build mpg2 files for dvd.