PDA

View Full Version : Problem with texturing in Zbrush


DarkTure
03-08-2006, 07:24 PM
This is the first time im trying out Zbrush, I like it but im having a few problems.

I exported an Obj from maya into zbrush. (I watched kris kosta's tutorial http://206.145.80.239/zbc/showthread.php?t=030094 )

I get these weird resultes after picking up the object again/going back into edit mode. (see pics)

Its like its stretching out the little bit I painted on the object so it fits the whole object. (or just messing up my texture) Is there a setting I've missed?.
My mesh is pretty clean, all the tris are hidden in/behind the ear.

I also tried painting a sphere, I did not get to good results.. :(

eblondin
03-08-2006, 07:33 PM
What do your uvs look like?

Did you lay them out in maya or assign new ones in zbrush?

What are your settings on pick up in Projection master?

DarkTure
03-08-2006, 07:43 PM
Thanks for replying,

What i've done so far is exporting an Obj with out laying out the Uvs in maya. I assigned a new texture in zbrush and I thought that would be enough :)

When I pick up in projection master im only using: colors and i've got fade checked.

eblondin
03-08-2006, 07:45 PM
before you start painting you should assign etiher GUV or AUV tiles to it under tool - texture in zbrush

DarkTure
03-08-2006, 07:52 PM
Doh.. I should have thought about that.

Thanks man I tried it and you've made me a happy man :)

eblondin
03-08-2006, 07:58 PM
No problem, if you haven't checked out the FAQ (http://www.zbrushcentral.com/zbc/faq.php?) section at zbrush central I would highly recommend it.

DarkTure
03-08-2006, 07:59 PM
Thanks again, I'll go read it now before asking any more silly questions :)

eblondin
03-08-2006, 08:01 PM
yeah no problem though, there are a lot worse questions you could be asking. :)

CGTalk Moderation
03-08-2006, 08:01 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.