PDA

View Full Version : [help] bone and muscle rigging

whitemage7
03-05-2006, 04:42 AM
Hi all,
Is there anyone here know how to do the bone and muscle rigging in maya? I want to make a great skin deformation, but it's really time and brain consuming with the joint. any help is highly appreciated. thanks :)

Nicool
03-05-2006, 09:22 AM
It's not easier and quicker to build up a muscle rig. Plus surface deformation is quite heavy (if you don't create a lower rig for animation). Note that muscles are extra stuffs on a rig, you still need to create a structure easy to use for the animator (few handler, stability, limitations,...)

You can find on learning-maya.com 2-3 tutorial to fake muscle rig with a clusters/lattices/driven keys combo.

whitemage7
03-06-2006, 04:11 AM
Yeah, I know it's harder to build a muscle rig, but the result really worth it, right? Besides, it's better to make another lower res model for animation purpose. I'm still a student and willing to explore more about this kinda rig. Do you know any great tutorial for this rig? what about bone rigging?

dunkelzahn
03-06-2006, 09:37 AM
Bone rigging is easier. Just do a smooth skinning and flood each bone so it stays rigid to a single joint. Muscles should be modeled on a object by object base, rigged and tested. Realistic muscle deformation is hard as hell, and a good amount of attention should be dedicated to the human anatomy! :)

I prefer using lattices and clusters for deformation and linking the rotation of a joint to the deformers anmation by driven keys when a lowres-model is not present (which I think is the best solution as well, as it gives you the most control).

Cheers

Chris

stewartjones
03-07-2006, 11:37 AM
From what I can tell you haven't rigged a lot of stuff yeah?

If that's the case, forget about muscle systems for the moment. Get the basics down first, you will benefit more from learning the basics than from anything else.

M.E.L.
03-07-2006, 06:58 PM