PDA

View Full Version : Keep Plane Gizmo of the UVW Map oriented at camera

Breinmeester
03-04-2006, 06:32 PM
Hi there!!

I'm mapping a bitmap flat onto a sphere using planar mapping with the UVW Map modifier. I'm trying to keep the mapping oriented at the camera. I tried to put a look-at constraint on the gizmo, but Max won't allow me to perform such operations on a gizmo as it's not an object (I guess). I discovered that I can animate the 'View Align' option of the UVW Map modifier. So now, when my shot is done, I can go through each frame with Auto Key on and my camera view selected, and click 'View Align'.

I was thinking, however, if it was possible to automate this process. I tried the Max Script Macrorecorder (persuming that it works like Photoshop Actions), but it doesn't record 'View Align'. I never worked with Max Script before, but I have some knowledge of other programming languages, so coding isn't totally new for me.

Anybody any ideas??

j-man
03-06-2006, 12:01 PM
Hi,

It's not imposible to assign a lookat constraint to a gizmo, but one way is with a script:

b=box()
m=(uvwmap())
addmodifier b m
c=m.gizmo.rotation.controller=(LookAt_Constraint())
macros.run "Lights and Cameras""Camera_CreateFromView"
c.appendtarget (getactivecamera()) 100
c.target_axis=2

novalism
03-06-2006, 12:28 PM
From my basic maxscript experience i guess this piece of code should be pasted in the listener right?

It makes the box with an uvw modifier and than the gizmo gets orientated to the camera.
Well I've just done all this and I got this error.

-- No ""="" function for ((Global:LookAt_Constraint) (prop run Global:macros) (%"+"() "Lights and Cameras" empty) (%"+"() "Camera_CreateFromView" empty) (prop appendtarget Global:c) (Global:getActiveCamera) 100 (prop target_axis Global:c))

Can someone tell me whats wrong here? Ah I'm using max 7.5

I guess the modifier isnt assigned to the box in the first place?

Breinmeester
03-06-2006, 02:37 PM