PDA

View Full Version : Getting the most out of Ref Scenes

ljilekor
03-03-2006, 12:44 PM
I have a load of experience in Lightwave, Messiah, Max, ... but I'm kinda new to Maya.

One of the most interesting and workflow enhancing features, for me, is the use of Ref scenes.
Especially for creating low level animation rigs that drive complex hires setups.

I'm having some trouble creating ref scenes with shared edits. A few Q'zzz :

What's the most effective way to set them up?
The most effective way to link/replace/... proxy's with their animations (edits)
What should I keep in mind?
When everything is set up, are the edits updated in both ways?
(edits lores > hires AND edits hires > lores)
Can I route the references myself or are they setup up automaticaly? (ex. to link world/loc anim of JointX in one scene to world/loc coordinates LocaterY in the other)
Are there usefull MELs to facilitate the job ?
Thanx in advance.

Dichotomy
03-03-2006, 10:14 PM
the connection is one sided with reference setups. So any changes to the reference will change in the scene, but any changes in the scene won't affect the ref. Although, a lot of stuff gets locked so changing stuff in scene can't always be done.

I don't believe there is a way to make direct connections between scenes. I won't say it can't be done (because there are a lot of very smart programmers out there, but I dont believe maya has that built in)

as far as having a low res character in one scene and a high res in another, I think you are confusing what exactly a ref will do. you dont want to animate your reference file, only reference the file and then animate the reference in your scene (make sense?) The reference is used because you can then change the original (add controls, fix skin weights, change uv's, etc) and it will be changed in every file that is referencing it.