PDA

View Full Version : Exporting Models from ZBrush2 too C4D

Reminiscence
03-03-2006, 01:15 PM
This is a post that I made in Zbrushcentral, and only got an answer pointing me in a direction that confused me more. Anyways I hope someone can help me in here...

Hey everyone. I'm a total newbie at 3d modelling, and am quite ambitious. My set-up atm is C4D and ZBrush2. I'm trying to export a model I've made in ZBrush. But to no avail. Maybe it's the lingo, I dunno, but I can't get it right to get Cinema 4d to read the .obj files I export, from the bottom of the Tool menu in Zbrush. I don't get an error, I just get nothing. Is there something I'm missing. Settings? Restrictions in the use of Zbrush with other 3d Apps? Also what are displacement maps? Does that have anything to do with my issue? Btw I've used the Zsphere to make the model, is that right?

Thanks in advance for your patience and help...

Regards
Reminiscence

eblondin
03-03-2006, 05:17 PM
So help me understand your question. When you try to export an .obj nothing happens? Does a dialogue box come up that asks you where you want to save it? And when you go to that location on your hd. its not there?

Or are you saying that when you export out your .obj c4d wonít open it?

There aren't really any settings in zbrush that would make c4d not read your .obj, most likely your import settings on c4d.

Displacement maps are grayscale images that are used to displace low rez geometry that is sub divided at render time to look like its high poly counter part. ie the high poly version of that model you made in zbrush. These have nothing to do with importing/exporting .obj's

Reminiscence
03-03-2006, 06:01 PM
Well I get a dialogue box and I do export it. And when I load the object in C4D, I get a couple of things in the object manager, but nothing shows in the main display. So what should the settings then be for both apps, to make importing and exporting work in both apps?