PDA

View Full Version : help, dbz, repaint, enlarge, color


Voluntas
02-26-2006, 08:03 PM
Hi,

I wanted to 'repaint' a dbz image. I started with making the original 300% bigger with bicubi smoother in PS. Now i already 'repainted' all the black lines but now im at the colors and it just doenst work. Everytime i fill it with a color it looks SILLY....who can help me? How does this work? How do i fix this? If there is nobody who wants to help could someone plz post a tutorial or something so i might figure it out myself. I already searched on google but dont know with wich terms i must look.. i found nothing...only tutorial on how to enlarge an image...but i already know that.

Here are 2 images of my work. First one is the original, i think screenshot of a saga, and second is what i 'repainted'. Of course the repainted version is bigger in my psd. To be precies, this image is 15% of the one in my psd.

http://home.wanadoo.nl/h.gaastra/dbz_original.jpg

http://home.wanadoo.nl/h.gaastra/dbz_repainted.jpg

thanks in future

SylvanMist
02-27-2006, 04:46 PM
I'm really not sure what you mean by it looking silly, you may want to give more details on that.

There's really nothing to coloring that in...Just choose the colors that you want and paint them in the same places as you see in the original if you want an exact copy.

You can make a new layer, then place that black & white layer on the top and set it to Multiply in the blend groups to make things easier.

Voluntas
02-27-2006, 07:01 PM
I put the original file on one layer and a layer above that empty and in that one i painted the black lines over. I repainted the black lines in an empty layer so there is no white, its just there so you can see clear what i did.

By 'silly' i mean that when i try to color it i take kind one color and (re)paint a whole side but when i'm like half way with one color it seems that the color has changed on the original and when i take that new color they wont mix... and when i only use 1 color for say the shadow area's one the face it looks silly.

so my problem is that when i (re)color it doesnt fit, doesnt look the same, as the original. So i call that silly...lol

I hope you understand me.

DArcy1
02-27-2006, 10:23 PM
HI


You've posted your "reference photo" and your black and white line art, but not the coloring you've tried, which is what you are having trouble with. Kind of makes it hard to help you :-).

Why don't you post images of a few of your coloring attempts so we can see what the problem is and we can offer sensible advice.

D.

Voluntas
02-28-2006, 06:57 PM
http://home.wanadoo.nl/h.gaastra/dbz_original.jpg

http://home.wanadoo.nl/h.gaastra/test1-1.gif

you see how it doesnt fit? and if i try to take the same color as bg it doesnt take the same...

i do learned something new...i tried gradient.

CGTalk Moderation
02-28-2006, 06:57 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.