PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about buying...

olioli
02-24-2006, 10:05 PM
Hi,

I'm thinking about buying z brush, however I have a couple of questions.

I've been reading mixed review's on how easy it is to use this program. Some people say it's very easy and swear by it while others think it's a little hard to get used to.

I'm totally new to world of 3d modeling. I am using Maya currently to animate with, but want to start learning how to model. Being new to modeling, would z brush be a good way to start learning?

Has anyone purchased the gnomon z brush intro dvd? Has this been useful to anyone?

Lastly, Is this program used only for organic models or can you build envrionments also?

Thanks in advance.
:beer:

jimzepellin
02-25-2006, 01:24 PM
I don't think it's mixed reviews. I think both point are legitimate. Once you get over a couple of idiocincracies then it's relatively straight forward to get up and modelling but like any package theres a lot to learn. Pesonaly I find the interface and layout a pain. I found it hard to remember where everything was but with use this gets easier.
Since you are new to modelling I would suggest, since you are using Maya, learning learn to model in Maya. ZBrush is used mostly for organic modelling it does'nt use the traditional modelling that is a mainstay of other software packages. You really need to know how to model both ways.
I would suggest getting the demo of ZBrush and see if you like it.

DorisDay
02-27-2006, 08:17 AM
At first I found it a little odd & complicated, but now I find it a doddle to use, the layout makes a lot of sense too...

I think every app has this problem to be honest, do the ZB tuts or purchase the intro to ZBrush DVD by Kurvstudios & you'll be flying in no time at all...

benclark
02-27-2006, 01:22 PM
I think people who are used to working in 3D find it hard to grasp the 2.5D thing at first.