PDA

View Full Version : Premultiply?

RichH
02-24-2006, 12:04 PM
Hi all - I'm new to this so forgive if i don't get this thread thing correct!

I've just started to learn about compositing after using maya for a few years i thought it would be good to learn.

I am a bit confused about the multiply / pre-multiply aspects in after-effects. As i understand it some cgi can be premultiplied which can give you a fringe when you do any sort of color correction.

I really want to know how after-effects handles the whole alpha thing as regards any color changes you make.

Any tips or help would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks in advance

p.s if anyone wants to correct me with regards to the etiquette of posting please feel free!
Rich

Mylenium
02-24-2006, 03:20 PM

I've just started to learn about compositing after using maya for a few years i thought it would be good to learn.

I am a bit confused about the multiply / pre-multiply aspects in after-effects. As i understand it some cgi can be premultiplied which can give you a fringe when you do any sort of color correction.

I really want to know how after-effects handles the whole alpha thing as regards any color changes you make.

Many thanks in advance

p.s if anyone wants to correct me with regards to the etiquette of posting please feel free!
Rich