PDA

View Full Version : How To Morph Characters

Bayern_Munich
02-24-2006, 08:19 AM
Hi there,
This is my first time posting. I was wondering if anyone knows any tutorials or any good ways to morph one character into another in 3DS Max or if this is even possible to do. I am making a short animation of a couple characters that need to be morphed into another one and so on. If there are any good ways to do it I would appreciate it !!!

Thank you

freakmoomin
02-26-2006, 07:07 PM
Im no expert but i doubt theres any easy way to do this. The easiest way i can think of is to just animate your characters and interchange them throughout just swaping from identical poses on the change over. Then try and put some transition/morph effect on in After Effects.

really dont think there is an easy answer here, just experiment.

Bayern_Munich
02-27-2006, 05:58 AM
Cool, I actually never thought of that...the only thing I thought of before was to animate the verts into a new character but that would be ridiculously time consuming and a pain.

Thanks for the help!

ptavi
02-27-2006, 10:23 AM
3DSMax has a modifier called Morpher. With Morpher you can easily morph characters, but you have to have same amount of polygons in both of your characters to make it work. Check more about Morpher from the Help.

Bayern_Munich
02-28-2006, 01:27 AM
Awesome, thank you soo much

Sharpy3d
02-28-2006, 08:48 PM
Hi, it is a morphing software that works very well, its name is Elastic Reality from Avid. Its not a 3d software, but you can use it with your render images directly.

Good look :thumbsup:

LordMcGoat
02-28-2006, 10:34 PM
Hi,
This is something I've been looking into a lot recently. Basically, if you want to morph a character into something completely different, like a man who grows another head, you're in for a hell of a ride.