PDA

View Full Version : Is there any way to position objects, based on an alpha map of a different object?


robinson
02-22-2006, 02:03 PM
Is there any way to position objects, based on an alpha map of a different model in modeler ?
(There could be a workaround with layouter)

For Example:
If you got a earth texture, take the model in the second layer (for instance a fish) and spread it (x number of times) evenly in the area (alpha), where the oceans are.

Thanks for any help
robinson:)

PentamiterBeast
02-22-2006, 02:10 PM
You can do it with random cloner (polas.net) but natively I dont know. Dont think so.

robinson
02-22-2006, 02:56 PM
Thanks but:

Random Cloner is 80 $, looks like you can only use weight maps and it clones random, it does not spread the clones evenly on a surface.

TrexGreg
02-22-2006, 03:15 PM
Thanks but:

Random Cloner is 80 $, looks like you can only use weight maps and it clones random, it does not spread the clones evenly on a surface.

Meshpaint (http://www.evasion3d.com/mp_lw_prodinfo.html)does this easily...
But, at a cost... :(

Cheers,

HowardM
02-22-2006, 03:51 PM
you could use particles and fxlinker to attach the objs to the pfx....use the alpha in the emitter Birthrate....
not perfect but can work...

robinson
02-22-2006, 10:28 PM
you could use particles and fxlinker to attach the objs to the pfx....use the alpha in the emitter Birthrate....
not perfect but can work...

thanks howard,
that's what I meant with the layout workaround...
rob :)

robinson
02-23-2006, 12:33 AM
Meshpaint (http://www.evasion3d.com/mp_lw_prodinfo.html)does this easily...
But, at a cost... :(

Cheers,

BTW
I haven't really seen that feature, what I'm looking for on this side... http://www.evasion3d.com/mp_lw_prodinfo.html

CGTalk Moderation
02-23-2006, 12:33 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.