PDA

View Full Version : Why should I use Messiah?

pzanna
02-21-2006, 12:18 AM
I have been using Zbrush with Messiah for about 12 months now and have been reasonably happy with the outcomes, but recently brought Maya 7 because of a need for hair and better particle / cloth options. I also got PointOven with the idea of animating in Messaih and rending in Maya, but as I learn more about Maya's animation features I am starting to wonder if I need Messiah at all.....

I was hoping that someone could enlighten me to reasons why it would be better to continue with Messiah. Now I understand that a question like this is a bit loaded because everyone has different preferences (and it is the Messiah forum!), but I curious to see what other poeple have found.

Thanks in advance.

Wegg
02-21-2006, 01:54 AM
I think you will find that the realtime feedback is much faster in Messiah than it is with Maya. There are also significant advantages in having a setup mode in fine tuning rigging.

I also think in the near future the lack of particles and hair will be resolved.

gsuttor
02-21-2006, 02:48 AM
There is no other reason than if you WANT to.

If you bought Maya and you own messiah, why don't you use a bit of both until your happy with the combination or even, messiah for one project, Maya for the next, get a feel for yourself which app works best in which situation.

opera
02-21-2006, 12:25 PM
humm ???? strange question ....
If you are more confortable with Maya and you are able to setup a rig faster than Messiah ... where is the pblm ?
Of course Messiah have less options about hair, particles, etc.

I think, the difference is: if you have to work with someone else on a rig ( if you have to share your rig or give it to a company ), some studios don't have messiah... or have internal tools ( Maya scripts or plugs to setup characters -ie: Weta Digital).

There is no reason to not use exclusively this or that .... if you are good in both, use them both !?....