PDA

View Full Version : Need Help - new artist seeks advice

Runecaster
02-20-2006, 04:12 PM
Image Here (http://www.deviantart.com/view/27953685/)

That is my 5th digital painting, so yeah, I'm a complete novice. I don't even have any art background and I am just now starting drawing classes (taken after that one was completed)

So basically I need help with everything. Am I doing /anything/ right at all?

I'm wondering why it looks cartoon-ish, when that wasn't my aim at all... brush style? Coloring technique? I just basically painted, I did not use dodge/burn tools in any way.

Is this the right place for me or do I just need to scurry away and get better first? Where can I get the kind of help I need?

Anything will help, thanks in advance.

DArcy1
02-21-2006, 01:55 AM
HI there

I'm an amateur myself, so take these thoughts in that context. I would say the primary issue is the underlying drawing itself, rather than your brush or coloring technique. Basically, if you strip away all the color and bring it back to the line art itself, it doesn't look solid or cohesive, many of the drawing components do not appear to be related (in three-dimensional space) to anything else. I mean this not as a criticism, but as my best understanding of where things are going wrong for you in the painting. This is an issue of learning the rules of perspective. You don't need to know all of them, and in fact unless you're an absolute masochist I would not suggest trying to learn them all ( ! ), but a bit of the basics will do you a long way. I was very fortunate to find a good secondhand book on the subject.

Online, I would suggest the following site: http://handprint.com/HP/WCL/wmap.html

As you scroll down, you will see a number of categories which will serve you well in your learning. The perspective section is under the "technique" category.