PDA

View Full Version : Island Rendering


Bmoner
02-18-2006, 11:17 PM
I want to know what you guys think about my scene. I rendered it out in 3D Studio Max with MentalRay as the renderer. The land was made by a single plane that has measurements of 3000x3044 with segments of 250x250. The ocean is also made of a single plane that was measurements of 3000x3000 and segments of 500x500.

I have two lights in this scene. The land texture is procedural. I used lots of mix layers to achieve the look. The ocean is made with a mirror lume for the surface, and ocean lume for the bump...and I still feel like something is missing from the whole thing. I don't know if it's the land, or the ocean, or the whole thing all together.

Can someone offer any suggestions as to what I should do with it?:curious:

Used:
Autodesk 3D Studio Max 8 SP1 (Scene)
Adobe Photoschop CS2 (Lens Flare)

Brandon M.

Bmoner
02-19-2006, 04:51 PM
Ok did I post in the wrong forum? And if I did, can someone direct me to the right forum please?

fxjeane
02-21-2006, 05:03 PM
The picture is too small to see any detail. I cant see where the ocean is.

Bmoner
02-22-2006, 12:11 AM
Here's a bigger picture without the lens flare added. Hopefully you can see everything in here.

http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c289/Bmoner/Backgrounds/Island.jpg

dbates
02-22-2006, 01:10 PM
The water looks like there is a great deal of small debris floating in it. The whole image is somewhat grainy, which makes it a little difficult to distinguish the water from the land. . . I would suggest that you work on your ocean shader to get it looking more like water. Maybe use a picture like this one for reference: http://pinker.wjh.harvard.edu/photos/santa_barbara_california/images/Pacific%20Coast%20hwy%20south%202.jpg

CGTalk Moderation
02-22-2006, 01:10 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.