PDA

View Full Version : Dog rig - help needed

scroll-lock
02-16-2006, 01:01 PM
Hi guys,
First to introduce myself - Marin Petrov - character animator and rigger. The problem is I`m using Lightwave for all my work, but I`m gonna make my short animation /wich i started over an year ago blah..:cry: / using Maya for the animation and rigging. So i`m not noob in rigging,but I`m total noob in Maya . I designed and modelled a dog character. I need a little guidelines for how to rig it. Just a few tips on how do you build your hierarchy for a dog rig. I have some special requirements for my dog, but i`ll coment them later. Now I just wanna know how do you guys rig your dogs If you can link any tips and tricks It would be very helpful. thanks.

dunkelzahn
02-16-2006, 01:10 PM
Take a look at the FB/IK quadruped skeletons. Just came out with Maya 7.0, so it is pretty new, but I guess thatd be a good start...

scroll-lock
02-16-2006, 01:31 PM
Thanks I checked it... but i have to admit it`s a little bit strange for me that i can grab an arm and move the whole body with that handle... Maybe it`s easier , but i`m not used to that kind of things.
What I want for my rig is to have 2 handles - one for the front legs, one for the back legs, and to move them separately. And if it`s possible the spine between them to be stretchy. That`s the things that I want to have in my rig, so when i pose the front legs somewhere, I don`t want the back legs to move. I want them to stay there. I hope i make myself clear..

dunkelzahn
02-16-2006, 02:59 PM
.. but i have to admit it`s a little bit strange for me that i can grab an arm and move the whole body with that handle...

Yeah, I hear lots of people say that. You can pin/unpin the effectors at the end of your limb, so they stay in place, but I can understand that the whole concept is weird (Alias took that from Filmbox, when they Kaydara, hence the name "FB"IK)