PDA

View Full Version : How to rig a Chainsaw ?


yohan3d
02-14-2006, 03:23 PM
Hi everyone,
I need to rig a chainsaw for animation, there are about 25 blades (there are actually triangles). I tried with Motion path but I couldn't manage, surely there is another way.. any idea please ?
Thank you

mzee
02-14-2006, 05:23 PM
On highend3d can you find some scripts for chains,...
Did you try to do it with constraints?

Can you maybe post a image?

yohan3d
02-15-2006, 11:06 AM
Hi, here is an image of the chainsaw whose the teeth I need to animate. Please let me know if anyone has an idea on how to rig the teeth for animation. Thank you

Randolph
02-15-2006, 11:52 AM
Have a look at this script:
"Treads Creation" http://www.radiantsquare.com/modules/wmpdownloads/

That should fit your needs. You'll need some time to get behind it, it's not absolutely perfect, but it's very cool.

yenvalmar
02-15-2006, 01:52 PM
if the chainsaw has to have a blade that is one piece and cartoony like that, try this method. this is a quick test i put together in about 3 minutes:

(http://www.yenvalmar.com/nonprofit/cartoonchain.avi) playblast (http://www.yenvalmar.com/nonprofit/cartoonchain.avi)

its easier to see than it is to explain, but it uses a wire deformer with a spline wrapped around itself in a 720 degree circle, deforming a straight piece of geometry thats the shape of the chain. but it could be an oval shape as in your scene just as easily. make the length of the geometry such that it wraps around the chain fully in 360 degrees and animate it's translation along the curve for one full length of the chain, then in the space of one frame offset the position back to the beginning. i can just post the maya file if this looks like it will work for you, i'm not sure i'm explaining it clearly. in my example i intentionally left a one tooth gap so that you can see the motion, as otherwise its very hard to tell whats going on in a playblast. as you can see theres a hitch when it slides back, but i think with motion blur etc going on, nobody would notice. just my 2 cents and its easy :)

you could also lattice deform the wire itself into your oblong shape and simply rotate the geometry if you model it in a circle. that would give you more realistic rotation but that would distort the blades more along the length.

yohan3d
02-16-2006, 01:13 AM
Hi guys, thank you for your comments, just to let you know that every tooth of the chainsaw is a separate element, they are not attached one another.
About the rigging, is it possible to do this using joints ?

CGTalk Moderation
02-16-2006, 01:13 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.