PDA

View Full Version : Want to build a server


The Idiot King
03-03-2002, 12:37 AM
I want to build a server because I've got almost enough spare parts and we have 2 computers sharing 1 cable modem connection. Right now we're using 2 IPs and getting charged $10 extra / month.

I also want the server to run games on occasion, and have it available for rendering. My roommate uses Maya and I'm using 3D Studio MAX.

If the server is busy rendering a scene, will it interrupt the system's activity as a proxy server? (I don't expect to run games and render at the same time...)

What other considerations are there for this type of multi-purpose server?

epatnor
03-13-2002, 07:13 PM
Since CPU utilization is more or less 100% during rendering, at least SOMETHING is going to be interrupted (not necessarily shut down).

But if the server contians dual CPU's, well that's a different story... You can make the server exclude the rendering operations from one CPU, and have the other one free for system tasks!

Go with raid as well, so you can stream video over your 1000MB/s network... ;)

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 02:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.