PDA

View Full Version : Adding Polys to Imported Model

JonnyNewo
02-13-2006, 09:04 PM
Okay, so I have a two part question. I'm new to zBrush (2.0) but not to 3d Max 7, which is what I'm using to create my basic, undetailed mesh. My first problem is that when I try to import my model into zBrush as an .obj file I get this weird, jumbled mess of polygons. After trying a couple different things it still imports the same. So I tried the other file zBrush recognizes, a .dxf. The problem is my model had more polys then a .dxf could contain. After knocking off enough polys it worked and imported into zBrush as a .dxf just fine. The only problem was it had too few polys to allow me to do much with it in zBrush. I've played around in zBrush and added more polys to spheres by using the Initialize modifier under the tools menu. But I just can't add polys to my model the same way for some reason. The initialize modifier isnt there... SO since I can't add more polys my model looks bad and the details I try to add make it even worse. Here's what I need to know:

1. Why does my model become a jumbled mass of polys when I export as an .obj file? Is it just an issue with 3d Max 7?

2. Why can't I add more polys to my model when I import as a .dxf??

Sorry, if some of these questions have been answered somewhere else that I don't know of. If anybody could help me out I'd really appreciate it!! :)

eblondin
02-13-2006, 09:14 PM
Not 100 percent sure about your jumble mesh problem try In max when you export out as an .obj turn up the number of digits slider to 6, will at least fix uv problems. What are your settings for your export on obj? are all your verts welded?

In zbrush under tool - geometry - divide. This is where you divide your mesh and work with multiple sub division levels of editing. This will increase your poly count. The higher you divide it the more detail you can get.

The initialize is only for primitive zbrush objects not imported meshes or poly3d meshes.

JonnyNewo